Explosion

The name sounds worse than it really is. My dad just basically blew up my amazing day. I didn’t really see much of my parents last night, so tonight I was prepared to tell my dad that I had done amazing in math (since I have had a D in the class which has now been raised). When he got home he was in a great mood. Then, he told me that we were going to the DMV to get ID’s. But then he said for me AND my little sister Katherine. The thing is, I always have to wait longer to get things. When I turned 12 I finally got the camera I was asking for, for two years. Then my dad broke it and blamed me. Katherine is 10, and my dad just said he would give her a camera for Christmas. He blew up my good mood. Katherine always gets what I would of liked to have, or she get things way earlier in her life than I do. The struggles of being the oldest of four. Anyway, he noticed that my expressed wasn’t very happy. He asked me why I looked so “poopy.” Gee thanks dad. I told him why. Ever since I can remember I haven’t been able to stand up to him for the ways he has treated me over the years, just because I wasn’t the boy he was expecting, the “responsible” oldest, the child who got perfect grades. I told him the problem about Katherine. “You’re so selfish, you know that Annie? You are always thinking about yourself, never of others. You’re a selfish little brat.” I may have been thinking about myself, and I don’t know if that was selfish or not, but my whole life Katherine has been the star. This just isn’t fair. Parents with favoritism issues? Not cool. It makes your children feel like they’re unwanted and unloved. Sometimes the children think that their parents would be better off without them. I once had that thought, but before it fully formed in my head, I stopped myself. Other people besides your family needs you all. Remember that even if your best friend hates you, even if your family treats you like dirt, you are always needed by another person in the world. People need you. You ARE important.

This post wasn’t so I could share a part of my night and make you take pity on me, it was for you to see that you are special, that you are important. To others, and to me.

Thanks for listening,

~Annie ā¤

5 comments

  1. Klassic · December 8

    I couldn’t relate to something more. I’m the oldest of 3 and this happens to me all the time. Especially with my sister who is 4 years younger than me so she always manages to get things 4 years earlier than I normally would. It’s really annoying. She also becomes (literally) obsessed as soon as I take interest in something and immediately ruins it for me -_-
    Loved the post btw šŸ˜„

    Like

    • Klassic · December 8

      Also, try not to put so much pressure on yourself because I was never the “perfect child” either. šŸ™‚

      Like

      • Annie · December 9

        I don’t think anyone could really be a “perfect child,” and I try to put any pressure on it, but my parents don’t make that easy lol thanks!!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Annie · December 9

      Thank you so much! I cant think of what that would be like with someone four years younger! Hope all goes well with that, it must suck.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award! | living life in color

Leave a Reply

