My “Rebellions” As a Kid

So, I have been trying my hardest to make longer and more meaningful posts, but that has been hard since there isn’t really anything worth sharing. But I was cleaning out my storage room when I found a little box with a note attached to it. It was a note I wrote to my fourteen year old self when I was seven. Since I am thirteen now, I just thought I should read it now, just in case there is some weirdly strange advice. I barely remember writing this, but here is what it said:

Hi. I’m Lara. I mean you. Except I am seven. I want you to read this when you are fourteen and can do all sorts of stuff. I have some questions for you:

Do you still like the chicken nuggets mommy makes?

Do you still hate Cinderella?

Are you pretty?

It would be cool if we could talk.

Love yourself,

Lara

By the way, Lara is my real name, which I am gonna start using more maybe.

So to answer my three little questions:

No

Yes

Apparently yes.

I was so adorable at that age. That was when I started to sneak candy out of my pantry and think I would go to jail. That was the year I got a washable Little Mermaid tattoo and thought I was a gangster. That was the year Kathy bathed herself in ranch and ketchup when my dad wasn’t watching us properly. It was the year my littlest sister was born. It was the year I felt like I had to take more care of my sisters and protect them.

I honestly don’t know what else to say. I loved that little letter. And now, I have one for myself when I am…lets say…21? Lol every seven years.

Dear Lara,

I hope you got into an amazing college. Get into Julliard? Maybe? Hopefully? Did you turn out looking like mom, like everyone said? I sort of hope not. You should be your own person and not look like anyone else. Had a boyfriend yet? Ever got any major boy trouble? I honestly hope not. I don’t need anymore of that right now. How is Betty? Does she know that you love her, even though she sometimes gets really angry? Did she ever get better medication for the ADHD? Speaking of which, how is that going for us? Got a dog yet?! Does dad EVER get a dog? Does dad get better in acting towards you? Does mom still get angry? Does Kathy STILL want to be a doctor??! I know Charlie is fourteen, but how is she? Do you visit her a lot and give her advice on middle school? I know a lot of these questions wont really be answered, but it’s nice to know that you are gonna read this in seven years and look back on all the amazing things and people you have impacted in your life.

love,

Well, you know who this is.

Have a great day/night you guys

~Annie ❤

About Lara

I'm Lara, a 13-year-old volleyball-loving girl living in Virginia! I am obsessed with volleyball. Literally. I also like to sing, draw, and I've found that I like blogging! Make sure to follow me, and if you have any questions or comments, or just wanna chat, email me at mythologyprincess@gmail.com!

2 thoughts on “My “Rebellions” As a Kid

Leave a Reply

